Mr. Yin

Where were you born and where have you lived?

Although I was born in Michigan, I grew up on the Maryland side of Washington DC. I moved to Fort Collins for graduate school.

Where did you attend university or college?

I majored in computer science and did my bachelor’s at the University of Maryland (College Park) and my master’s thesis at CSU. Since then I took additional courses in music, math and education at CSU and UNC Greeley.

What kind of reading do you most enjoy doing?

I generally enjoy reading non-fiction: things like history or science where I can transport myself to different places or times and not only wonder what must have happened, but know that it actually did.

What are the small essentials that make life more comfortable?

Since my back and neck are troublesome, I have to be careful about how I sleep, the type of shoes I wear, how long I use a computer, how I carry heavy things, so on and so forth.

What are your favorite snacks?

Finding snacks that work for my health is tough - I have to keep trying new things because if I don’t, I get frustrated with health food and 5 pounds of chocolate magically disappears. They don’t call me Mr. Diet Coke for nothing!

6. What do you do to unwind?

I do a lot of what is usually called “Bleisure” - that is, going to restaurants or other public places to settle down and do work. When I’m too tired to continue, I’ll usually come home to relax to some brainless TV or sports before going to bed. I’ll occasionally schedule in any of my zillion hobbies when I can - dancing, board games, music, so on and so forth.

7. How could a parent volunteer help you most?

The school clubs I’ve worked with are deeply dependent on the incredible help of our parent volunteers. For my actual classes, however, I don’t really have any ongoing need for assistance, although unpredictably sporadic one-time tasks do pop up from time to time.

Upper SchoolS. Ferrieri