Mrs. Schmidberger

Where were you born and where have you lived?
I was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York. I lived in Connecticut for a time, and have now lived in Fort Collins for the last 21 years. I love the mountains, and miss the ocean!

Where did you attend university or college?
I attended New York University. I studied Journalism with the intention of becoming a newspaper reporter.

What kind of reading do you most enjoy doing?
I enjoy reading historical fiction. Many people know that my favorite series is the Little House on the Prairie books. My "bucket list" includes visiting all of the Little House sites. I also enjoy biographies and fun fictional stories.

What are the small essentials that make life more comfortable?
Life is comfortable with a soft blanket, a warm cup of tea (or ice tea), a good meal, comfortable clothing, and a good book or movie.

What are your favorite snacks?

A little sweet, a little salty. Chocolate covered peanuts are one of my favorites, as well as Nothing Bundt Cakes dessert!

What do you do to unwind?
I like spending time with my family and close friends. I also like to read, watch a good movie, cross stitch, and color. I have recently gotten hooked on "diamond painting", a cross between coloring, paint by number, and cross stitch.

How could a parent volunteer help you most?
We always need parent volunteers for parties and field trips and for the every day essentials like folder stuffing and pencil sharpening. But where we need help the most is with our daily reading groups. Every morning we have the children read in small groups. This time is so beneficial to the students, as they get to improve their fluency and comprehension. This is a great opportunity for volunteer hours not just for the parents of our students, but for anyone who wants to help; relatives, friends, parents of upper school students, etc.

Lower SchoolS. Ferrieri