Mrs. Dixon

Where were you born and where have you lived?

I was born in Indiana and I have also lived in Iowa, Minnesota, Illinois, Massachusetts, Colorado, Nevada, Wisconsin, and Colorado again, in that order. I have all the time zones in the contiguous U.S. covered!

Where did you attend university or college?

BA, History, Carleton College

MLA, University of Colorado

MPA, Harvard University

Certificate in College Counseling, UCLA

What kind of reading do you most enjoy doing?

I love reading American and Latin American history. Every day, I also try to keep up on current events and cultural issues through periodicals. Besides that, I like to keep a good mix of contemporary fiction going -- some authors I've enjoyed recently have been Ann Patchett, Barbara Kingsolver, Abraham Verghese, Marilynne Robinson, Khaled Hosseini, Alexander McCall Smith, and Emily St. John Mandel.

What are the small essentials that make life more comfortable?

Long-sleeved t-shirts, coffee, good music.

What are your favorite snacks?

Any fruit in season – Palisade peaches are the BEST. Also a Handful of Everything trail mix.

What do you do to unwind?

Walk the neighborhood and trails of Fort Collins with Quincy, my corgi mix, cook, hike and enjoy the mountains, and travel whenever I have the opportunity.

How could a parent volunteer help you most?

Occasionally when I hold informational sessions and workshops for groups of parents or students, a helping hand could be useful.

StaffS. Ferrieri