Mr. Ayers

Where were you born and where have you lived?

I was born in Orlando, FL. My family moved around a good bit when I was younger as my father worked for the Air Force and then the USDA. I have lived in Florida, Georgia, Texas, Georgia again, and now Colorado.

Where did you attend university or college?

I attended university at The University of Georgia for both my undergraduate and Master's degrees. While there, I did some extra work and received a BA in Classical Culture and Anthropology (as well as satisfying the requirements for a third degree in Latin). Then, I received an MA in Classical Languages (Greek and Latin). While working on both degrees, I spent most of my extra time taking archaeology courses and going on digs in Italy and Greece.

What kind of reading do you most enjoy doing?

I enjoy reading about history and archaeology. It is a great benefit to have a job where doing so furthers my career and allows me to read about what interests me. Other than history, I have also always enjoyed a good science-fiction book. Michael Crichton and Timothy Zahn are my favorite authors in this genre. I must also say that, while I do not enjoy all fantasy novels, Tolkien is a genius who says more in a sentence than most people can say in a paragraph or page.

What are the small essentials that make life more comfortable?

The small essentials, to me, are a good pen, a good book, and a good cup of coffee.

What are your favorite snacks?

My favorite snacks are, unfortunately, chips. I am trying to change this to fruit.

What do you do to unwind?

I love the outdoors and music. I try to do as many activities related to fishing, skiing, hiking, climbing, hunting, and the rest as I can. I am also in a local band and try to help out with the music program when I have the time.

How could a parent volunteer help you most?

Parents/volunteers can help me the most by voicing concerns and supporting what I am trying to do here at home. My door is always open and I welcome parent discussion and concerns.

Upper SchoolS. Ferrieri